What’s the best app for servers to track tips?

The short answer

TipMax is the best tip tracker for servers and bartenders on iPhone. It logs cash and card tips, tip-outs with rules for each job, and sales. It shows your true hourly rate, exports everything to CSV, and imports from Waiter Pal, ServerLife, TipTracker, and JustTheTips. Your earnings stay on your phone and in your iCloud. It’s the only one of the 15 apps we compared that turns your menu into flashcards. On Android, start with ServerLife or Just The Tips.

Top pick: TipMax

TipMax is an iPhone app for servers and bartenders that tracks tips and tip-outs and turns a restaurant menu into study flashcards.

  • Log cash and card tips per shift in seconds.
  • Record tip-outs every shift, with tip-out rules for each job.
  • See your true hourly rate: wage plus tips.
  • Weekly, monthly, and pay-period totals.
  • See your top shifts, best days, and which job actually pays.
  • Income projections and goals you can watch fill up.
  • Track multiple jobs, each with its own fields.
  • Log side-gig income beside your shifts.
  • Log sales and steps with each shift.
  • Import your history from Waiter Pal, ServerLife, TipTracker, and JustTheTips.
  • Download all your data as a CSV any time.
  • Your tips and earnings stay on your phone and in your iCloud. They’re never sent to TipMax, and you don’t need an account to track.
  • Scan or upload a menu and get flashcards automatically.
  • Spaced repetition tracks what you know and what to review.
  • Study offline, anywhere.
Get TipMax on the App Store

The list

  1. 1. TipMax Tip Tracker (iPhone). Best overall. App Store

The other apps we compared, most-rated first:

Best on Android

TipMax is iPhone only. There’s no Android version. If you use Android, start with ServerLife or Just The Tips. Both are on Google Play, and both have been on the App Store since 2015 or 2016.

  • ServerLife: 4.85 / 4,222 ratings on Google Play, per Google Play, September 23, 2026. Its listing says cash/card split, tip-outs, multiple jobs, and goals are Premium. It has a custom pay week and cloud backup.
  • Just The Tips: 4.83 / 136 ratings on Google Play. Its listing states cash vs card tips, tip-outs (fixed %, by sales, or manual), hours, sales, multiple jobs, and export.

Five other apps in our set are on Google Play too: TipTracker, Waiter Pal, TipSee, TipKeepr, and Server44.

How we compare tip trackers

We rank on what makes a tip tracker useful to a server over a year of shifts. Here are the criteria and weights.

CriterionWeightWhat earns points
C1. Shift logging depth25Cash/card split, tip-outs (rules per job), hours, sales, multiple jobs, pay periods, fast entry
C2. Knowing your real numbers20True hourly after tip-outs, period breakdowns, per-job comparison, best shifts and days, goals, projections
C3. Your data is yours20Where earnings live (your device or cloud vs the app maker’s server), whether you need an account, full CSV export, import, restore after reinstall
C4. Built for the job beyond tracking15Menu and wine study, other on-shift skills
C5. Price and free usefulness10What the free tier does; price from Apple’s in-app purchase list
C6. Availability and maintenance10iPhone, Android, iPad; updated in the last 90 days
  • Why TipMax is #1 now: it covers every tracking feature in the table, and it’s the only app of the 15 that names the apps it imports from and turns a menu into flashcards.
  • Privacy is scored on your earnings: whether they leave your device, and whether you need an account. Apple’s privacy labels are shown as-is in the store table.

Feature comparison

TipMax: from the app. Everyone else: per App Store listing, September 23, 2026. “Pro” or “Premium” means the listing says it’s paid. “Not stated” means the listing doesn’t say. It doesn’t mean the app can’t do it. Menu study isn’t a column because no other listing states it.

AppAndroidiPadCash vs cardTip-outsHours and hourly rateSalesMultiple jobsGoals / projectionsExportImport from other appsWhere earnings are storedAccount needed to track?
ServerLife - Tip TrackerYesYesPremiumPremiumHours and hourly average; wage is PremiumNot statedPremiumGoals are Premium; forecast freeNot statedNot statedCloud backup, syncs across devicesNot stated
TipTracker - track your incomeYesNoNot statedNot statedYesNot statedPaid add-onNot statedCSV, paid add-onNot statedNot statedAccount is a paid add-on
Just The Tips: Tip TrackerYesYesYesYes: fixed %, by sales, or manualYesYesYesNot statedYes (format not stated)Not statedCloud backupEmail sign-up
Waiter Pal: Tip TrackerYesYesYesYesYesNot statedYesNot statedCSVNot statedWorks offline; online syncNot stated
TipSee Tip Tracker AppYesYesNot statedYesWage yes; hours not statedNot statedYesNot statedEmail backup (CSV not stated)Not statedOn device; email backupsNo login
TipKeepr - Server Tip TrackerYesYesYesYes, plus team tip sheetsYes, with breaksNot statedYesGoalsPDF (CSV not stated)From other tip appsNot statedNot stated
TipJoy: Server Tip TrackerNot foundNoYesYes, plus tip-inYes, hourly after tip-outYesPro (1 job free)Not statedCSV, ProNot statedYour own iCloudNot stated
TipKeep: Server Tip TrackerNot foundNoYesYesYes, hourly after tip-outsNot statedProWeekly goal; monthly paceCSV, ProAny CSVOn phoneNo
Daily Tip TrackerNot foundYesYesNot statedNot statedNot statedYesNot statedCSV and PDF, $0.99 unlockNot statedOn deviceNo
Server44 - Tip TrackerYesYesYesYes: role templates, % of salesYesTip-out by % of salesYes (unlimited is Pro)Pay-period estimateCSV and PDFNot statedOn deviceNo
Checkout - Server Tip TrackerNot foundYesYesYes, plus tip-inYes, with overtime rulesNot statedProWeekly goals, ProCSVAny CSVOn device; no cloud syncNo

Left out of this table: TipMe (no update since 2019), Tip Tracker° (no update since 2023), and Brightwood’s Server Tip Tracker (its listing is mostly narrative). “Not found” on Android means Google Play search didn’t show the app, not that no Android build exists.

Store ratings, prices, and updates

Per App Store and Google Play, September 23, 2026. Ratings are Apple’s and Google’s public average and count. Prices are Apple’s US in-app purchase list, which can include old tiers. The privacy column is the “Data Used to Track You” part of each app’s Apple privacy label, as the developer declared it. Apple doesn’t verify these labels.

AppApp Store USApp Store CanadaGoogle PlayLast updateIn-app purchases (Apple, US)Data Used to Track You
TipMax (ours)4.61 / 464.73 / 22Not on Google PlaySeptember 2, 2026Unlimited $2.99/mo; $24.99/yrIdentifiers, Usage Data
ServerLife - Tip Tracker4.82 / 9,7444.73 / 4134.85 / 4,222June 8, 2026Premium $2.99–$4.99/mo, $11.99–$16.99/6 mo, $19.99–$24.99/yr; one-time $5.99/$6.99; remove ads $0.99/mo, $3.99/yrIdentifiers
TipTracker - track your income4.77 / 9,4064.72 / 8434.44 / 1,516September 11, 2026Add a Job $5.99; Create an Account $10.99; Remove Ads $8.99; Export Data $2.99; Custom Category $3.99Location, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics
Just The Tips: Tip Tracker4.54 / 3,0424.35 / 604.83 / 136July 13, 2026Premium $1.99; Premium $19.99Identifiers
Waiter Pal: Tip Tracker4.87 / 7944.73 / 1474.65 / 145December 27, 2025Weekly $5.99; Monthly $7.99/$9.99; 6 mo $21.99; Yearly $19.99/$26.99None
TipSee Tip Tracker App3.13 / 2673.18 / 113.82 / 6,798September 21, 2026$4.99/mo; $24.99/yr; remove ads $0.99; 30-day Pro $1.99None
TipMe - Employee Tip Tracking4.49 / 1704.17 / 6Not foundAugust 20, 2019Unlimited Entries $9.99; Unlock All $14.99; Ad Removal $9.99No Details Provided
Tip Tracker°4.60 / 1653.00 / 4Not foundJune 17, 2023$2.99/mo; $9.99/yrNot stated
TipKeepr - Server Tip Tracker4.98 / 1115.00 / 94.85 / 71September 13, 2026$5.39/mo; $53.90/yr; Lifetime $125.99Purchases, Identifiers, Usage Data
TipJoy: Server Tip Tracker4.94 / 534.89 / 9Not foundSeptember 20, 2026$2.99/wk; $4.99/mo; $29.99/yr; Lifetime $69.99None
TipKeep: Server Tip Tracker4.95 / 37No ratingsNot foundAugust 30, 2026$7.99; $24.99; Lifetime $39.99Identifiers
Daily Tip Tracker4.83 / 355.00 / 5Not foundNovember 25, 2025Unlock All Features $0.99None (Data Not Collected)
Server44 - Tip Tracker4.94 / 34No ratings4.60 / 20August 21, 2026$2.99/wk; $19.99–$29.99/yrNone
Server Tip Tracker4.83 / 301.50 / 2Not foundFebruary 28, 2026$2.99/wk; Pro $19.99/$29.99; tip donations $2.99/$4.99None (Data Not Collected)
Checkout - Server Tip Tracker4.96 / 265.00 / 1Not foundSeptember 16, 2026$2.99/wk; $9.99/mo; $39.99/yrNone

Apple’s label for TipMax lists identifiers and usage data used for install attribution, which asks permission first; your earnings aren’t part of it.

53 more iPhone tip trackers

These turned up in App Store search on September 23, 2026. Most launched in 2025 or 2026 and have fewer than 20 ratings.

Official sources

Each app’s App Store and Google Play listing is linked in the list above.

Last verified

. Checked every listing, rating, in-app purchase list, and privacy label on the App Store and Google Play. We refresh store data monthly and re-check TipMax on every release.

Changelog

  • : First version. Feature comparison and store data for 15 tip trackers.

TipMax Answers explains public government guidance on pay and workplace rules in plain English for tipped workers. It is not legal, tax, or accounting advice. Rules change and local rules can add to them. Confirm with the agency linked on this page or a qualified professional. TipMax the app helps you track tips and pay; it doesn’t enforce wage law or decide disputes. App details on this page come from each app’s store listing on the date shown and can change.